Move (2009)

On October 3, 2009 as part of the citywide arts extravaganza, Nuit Blanche, Peggy Baker choreographed a 12 minute work with twenty-four dancers. They performed move on the hour, every hour from 7pm to 6 am the following morning. Music was provided by Debashis Sinha, Ben Grossman and Phil Strong. Between each dance performance there was an audio-video installation by Debashis Sinha. This video records the event. One second of video was shot every 30 seconds during this 11 hour performance. This version solely represents the 12 dance performances.

Twenty-four dancers advance across the floor in a rolling, meditative pattern. Their spiralling movements evoke the raked sand of a Zen garden. After each cycle of the dance, an audio-visual installation by Debashis Sinha energizes the room.–Nuit Blanche catalogue


Presented by: Peggy Baker Dance Projects & Canada’s National Ballet School

Choreography: Peggy Baker

Audio-video installation: Debashis Sinha

Sean Ling / Sahara Morimoto
Gillian McPhail / Robin McPhail
Christine Birch / Elise Rowan
Brittany Duggan / Andrea Lithgow
Ric Brown/ David Houle
Lorraine Aston or Irit Amichai / Tomoko Uchino
Zihao Li / Kate Stashko
Meryem Alaoui / Heather Berry
Liisa Murray / Niki Wozniak
Nicole Nigro / Jessica Wilson
Jillian Clarke / Alicia Lee Davis
Hilary Brown / Matt Owen

Debashis Sinha
Ben Grossman
Phil Strong

Camera & Editing: Midi Onodera

In the series 2006-2011